Dr. Richard J. Kramer, CEP Memorial Award for Environmental Excellence

The Dr. Richard J. Kramer, CEP Award for Environmental Excellence was established to nationally recognize extraordinary achievements of individuals in the environmental profession. The award, which was first presented in 2004, is open to all ABCEP members, and includes worldwide recognition, a 0.999 fine silver medallion and a laser-engraved birds-eye maple plaque. More details can be found here.

2023 Dr. Richard J. Kramer, CEP Award for Environmental Excellence Recipient


Ronald E. Lamb, CEP Emeritus

Ron is a senior environmental program and project manager with more than 35 years of
experience in National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) compliance, regulatory compliance
and policy, public involvement and community relations, solid and hazardous waste
management, pollution prevention; and issue management. He has worked in all aspects of
NEPA compliance at the local, regional and headquarters/national office levels, conducted
training, mentored junior staff, authored policy and research papers, and presented on agency
NEPA compliance at conferences and symposiums. He managed the preparation of dozens of
Environmental Impact Statements (EISs) and Environmental Assessments (EAs). Before retiring
he was the NEPA program manager for the U.S. Marine Corps where he was responsible for
NEPA document review and compliance, NEPA program management and policy, and NEPA
training. He advised action proponents on NEPA and related environmental planning
requirements and strategies. At his retirement he was awarded the Superior Civilian Service
Award—the highest honorary award the Commandant of the Marine Corps may bestow on a
civilian employee—recognizing his exceptionally high-value contributions leading the USMC
NEPA program and mission-critical EAs and EISs. In 2016-2017 he was detailed to the Council
on Environmental Quality (CEQ) and served as a Deputy Associate Director for NEPA and
supported the Administration transition. In 2014 was detailed to the Deputy Assistant Secretary
of the Navy for Environment (DASN-E) to serve as Acting Director for Environmental Planning
and Terrestrial Ecology. Ron was previously a Vice President and NEPA Program Manager at
HDR|e2M. In 2005 he became a Certified Environmental Professional (CEP) in Environmental
Planning. He earned a Certificate in NEPA from Duke University (2012) and is co-chair of the
National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP) NEPA Practice. Ron holds an
M.S. in Environmental Science from Johns Hopkins University and an M.A. in Political
Science/International Economics from the University of Nebraska.

Previous recipients include:

2022 – Dr. Terry Kuykendall, CEP – Environmental Assessment 
2020 – Kelly Lyles, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2019 – James Elliott, CEP – Environmental Assessment
2018 – Elizabeth 'Liz' Johnson, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2017 – Dr. Kris Thoemke, CEP – Environmental Planning
2016 – Jennifer Lundberg, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2015 – Gary F. Kelman, MS, CEP – Environmental Documentation 
2014 - Heidi Pruess, CEP – Environmental Operations 
2013 - Connie Chitwood, CEP – Environmental Documentation 
2012 – Lori Cunniff, CEP – Environmental Documentation 
2011 – Richard P. McGucken, CEP – Emeritus 
2010 – Irving D. Cohen, CEP – Environmental Assessment 
2009 – John J. Fittipaldi, CEP – Environmental Planning 
2008 – Richard E. Burke, CEP – Environmental Documentation 
2007 - Michael R. Herbaugh, CEP – Environmental Assessment 
2006 - Audrey Binder, CEP – Environmental Planning 
2005 – Norman Arnold, CEP – Environmental Documentation 
2004 – Dr. Robert A. Michaels, CEP – Environmental Assessment

Emerging Environmental Professional Achievement

The Emerging Environmental Professional Achievement Award is specifically focused on recognizing those under 35 years of age who demonstrate superior leadership, professional involvement, commitment to foster environmental improvement, and actions to help make the world a better place for future generations. This award is open to any young professional, with the recipient being featured in the ABCEP and NAEP’s publications. The recipient will also be eligible to apply for certification as either a CEP-IT or CEP through ABCEP, and application fees to join ABCEP will be waived for the first year. More details can be found here.


2024 Emerging Environmental Professional Achievement Award Recipients


Kara Alexandra Dias, CEP-IT, Partner, Environmental Resource Management

Kara began her career as an environmental professional at Environmental Resources Management (ERM), a global EHSS consulting firm. While at ERM, she gained experience in site investigation, remediation, water and waste permitting and compliance, multi media audits, and environmental due diligence assessments. Additionally, she managed environmental projects at local, national and global scales. 

Christina Omran, PWS, FCCM, CEP-IT, Administrator, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission

Christina Omran is a Professional Wetland Scientist, Florida Certified Contract Manager and Negotiator, Volunteer Councilwoman, and Senior Management Analyst Supervisor at the State of Florida. She has extensive experience rulemaking, legislative bill analysis, human resource leadership, and statewide contract and program management experience.

Previous recipients include: 
2023 – Joshua Kunde, CEP-IT
2022 – Poonam Rameshbabu, CEP – Environmental Assessment 
2021 – Emily Gulick, CEP-IT
2020 – Siddharth (Sid) Rajmohan, CEP-IT
2019 – Maggi Young, CEP-IT
2018 – Nicolas Piane, CEP-IT
2017 – Tina McIntrye, CEP
2013 – Heather Rickleff, CEP-IT

Please contact ABCEPs Executive Administrator; send an e-mail to if you have any questions about either award or their nominations process.